Columbine

Columbine

Yesterday one of my sisters gave me a cd full of images her husband had scanned in from Dad’s Heirloom Album. (Hopefully he makes one from Mom’s Heirloom Album).

This evening has been spent studying familiar old photos.

I noticed, perhaps not for the first time, the poem on my Grandmother’s funeral card was written by A L Frink.

Amelia Louisa Corey Frink (1863 – 1903) was the wife of William Mitchell Frink (1832 – 1927). He is a distant Frink relative to Wilma.

I do not know if Dad knew of a connection to the author.

At Dad’s funeral his nephew Lawrence shared this poem written by Larry (Dad’s brother).

Columbine

Rare delicacy
contrasts with the stark beauty
of the mountains
Hardy
not frail
survives
bears young
passes on

Columbine they named her
as she shared beauty
survived
bore young
passed on

The legacy she passed on
continues to endure

Larry Hoppis 12/22/08

Cousin Lawrence explained Columbine was the nickname William Henry Columber (1861 – 1944) gave his daughter Wilma Hazel.

Whenever I have raised a garden a few Columbines found their way in. I never knew they were a reminder of love from a father to his daughter.

Leave a comment